Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

5 posters

the Can-Am thread

hmmguy
    hmmguy

the Can-Am thread Empty the Can-Am thread

Post by hmmguy Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:03 am

Hey folks,

as you may recall, I released a wip of a Can-Am mod I've been working steadfastly on for about 17 months now. Btw, I'm still hoping for more feedback on the wip. Also, it's still moving forward and the Readme has commenced being created.

With that said and the video Mr Wonka posted a couple days back, I decided to move the couple posts I had made in response to this thread as affraid I have been finding many more awesome and near deafening, thunderous videos of these monsters and it only seems right for a dedicated thread to this subject. Here's a new one I just watched and while not an older video during the original years, it is however a rare view from the cockpit with a driver that could care less about babying the car around Road America bouncing2 It Rocks

I'll move the other videos to here as well along with any more I find that are truly awe inspiring. The one thing though that after watching these cars and knowing just how insanely overpowered they were given their relatively light weights, I gotta wonder if the driver seats had to be specially made for guys like McLaren, Hulmes, Andretti or Donahue or any of the other stars of the series? What I mean is...how did they fit their balls in? wondering

While this guy isn't quite driving as hard as the guy in the Shadow is, the downshift sounds are incredible. I had read a number of times before about the McLarens having crazy downshift sounds compared to the other cars though no explanation for why.

cool period video.

This is part 1 of an awesome 3 part video (23 minutes or so altogether) of the 1966 Can-Am race at Stardust. It's amazing to see and compare with the version of this track in the Can-Am mod.

Part1

Part 2

Part 3